Understanding User Permissions

If your business has grown to the point of needing extra hands, you will want to put together a team. For seamless operation, each team member will be assigned a specific task within a given workspace. 

One of the cool features of TrackMage is that it lets you bring on board members of your team. This team might consist of the Director of Logistics, Customer Service Reps, Head of Customer Service, Store Keepers and lots more.

The task each member of the team can perform on TrackMage will be a function of their user permission. Understanding what user permission is all about will help you better manage your team.


What are user permissions

As the name suggests, user permission determines what a user is permitted to do in TrackMage.

There are 4 levels of permission in TrackMage, namely:

  • Team admin
  • Workspace admin
  • Write
  • Read

The level of permission can be further broken into 2 hierarchies, which are:

  • Team level (Team admin)
  • Workspace level (Workspace admin, Write and Read)

The Team admin's job is to create workspaces where his/her team members can work. It's within this workspace that the Workspace admin, Write and Read user can function. In addition to that, s/he determines which workspace a team member can work in.

Here's an illustration that explains the concept of user permissions.


For every workspace, there's a workspace admin, whose job is to manage the other team members with write and read permissions. 

Yet to get the concept? Here's a real-life scenario.

Let's say you run a large e-commerce store with 4 departments, namely: logistics, customer support, engineering, and warehouse. Each of these departments is headed by a director. For example, there is a director of logistics. In each department, there are 5 employees who are answerable to the director.

In TrackMage, you, as the CEO of the company, will have the Team admin permission. The directors whom you've appointed to head the different departments will be assigned the Workspace admin right. Then the 5 employees can either be a Write or Read user.

The director is free to hire/sack an employee in his department. Also, he or she can change the permission of any of the employee. 

However, no director can interfere in the activities of a department other than that which s/he heads. For instance, the director of logistics has absolutely no business, whatsoever, in the customer support department, except if allowed by the Team admin. 

Now you've hopefully gotten the concept, let's go into details of the roles of each user.

1. The Team Admin 

The Team Admin can act in the capacity of the other three users. Also, s/he doubles as the workspace admin for all the workspaces, and so can bring in new users to a workspace. 

The Team Admin has access to all the features in TrackMage, including billings and analytics. 

A Team Admin can decide to transfer that's team ownership, to someone else in the team. For instance, you sold off your business to someone, who then takes over the CEO role from you, thus becoming the new team admin.

But for this to happen, you will have to contact our customer support as team ownership transfer can only be done at the backend.

2. Workspace Admin

The Workspace Admin seconds the Team Admin. S/he is the boss of a workspace.

S/he can:

  • Invite other users and assign/change their permissions. Also has the right to delete a user.
  • Change the configuration of the Workspace he is assigned to
  • Access analytics, and the workflow feature
  • Create a new team, but will be billed for it. In addition to that, s/he can only create a new team in a new workspace, and not in the workspace s/he is assigned to. 

S/he can't:

  • Delete the team owner
  • Edit the configuration of a team
  • Change billing 
  • Access a workspace other than that which s/he is assigned to

3. Write permission 

The Write user can only function within an assigned workspace. S/he is more like the assistant to the Workspace Admin.

S/he can:

  • Create tracking numbers
  • Upload multiple tracking numbers
  • Get links to a tracking page
  • Configure tracking columns
  • Export data
  • Access the analytics page, but only to a limited extent.
  • Change the design of a tracking page
  • Create a new team but in a new workspace. This will require some billing

S/he can't:

  • Invite, delete or change the roles of members of a team
  • Create/edit a team
  • Access a workspace's configurations
  • Create a workspace within the team s/he is assigned to
  • Create or re-configure workflows 

4. Read user

The Read user is the least of all. Such a user can only read but can't create or edit a single thing. That's to say, they can only see but can't touch. This role is best suited for customer support personnel.  

S/he can:

  • Get tracking links
  • Access the tracking page, but can't do anything there
  • Filter columns 

S/he can't

  • Add tracking numbers
  • Edit a tracking page
  • Edit/add columns 
  • Use the visual builder tool
  • Change the configuration of a tracking page

Here's the screen of a read user


It's bare, with most critical features missing. 



 


Did this solve your problem?